Central American dry forests

WWF Abstract

The Central American Dry Forests ecoregion extends in patches from the dry forests of southeast Mexico, through Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, and Nicaragua, ending in the transition zone of dry to moist forest in Costa Rica. These unique ecosystems represent dry habitat "islands" embedded in moist forests, pine-oak forests, and xeric habitats, and are important in the migration routes and life cycles of many species. Most dry forest areas are in the lowland plains. Generally, these forests are smaller in structure and simpler in composition than the neighboring moist forests, although many endemic species do occur here. Dry forests are dense and species-rich with 600 to 700 tree species in the various ecological zones.
Read more: View WWF Report
Biome:Tropical and Subtropical Dry Broadleaf Forests
Countries:Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica
Area:16,831,998 acres (6,811,668 hectares)
Species:All  Endangered  Invasive
Climate:View Climate Data
Land Use:View Land Use Data

Protected Areas

Barra de Santiago Wildlife Refuge Area de Uso Møltiple
Barra Honda National Park
Carara National Park
Cerro Azul Meámbar National Park
El Boquerón Natural Monument National Monument
El Imposible National Park
El Jocotal Lagoon Wildlife Refuge
Guanacaste National Park
Jardin Botánico Lancetilla Biological Reserve
La Tigra National Park
Lago de Yojoa Multiple Use Reserve
Marino las Baulas National Park
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve
Nancuchiname Forest Wildlife Refuge
Palo Verde National Park
Pico Pijol National Park
Río Kruta Biological Reserve
Reserva Biológica Lomas Barbudal Biological Reserve
San Diego y La Barra National Park
Santa Rosa National Park
Walter Thilo Deininger National Park
Ecoregions provided by World Wide Fund For Nature (WWF). WildFinder: Online database of species distributions, ver. 01.06 WWF WildFINDER