High Arctic tundra

WWF Abstract

This ecoregion is an Arctic archipelago made up of Axel Heiberg, Ellesmere, Baffin, Somerset, and Queen Elizabeth Islands. The topography varies with each island, from the rugged ice-covered mountains of the west coasts of Ellesmere and Axel Heiberg to the lower elevations of the Queen Elizabeths. Mosses, lichens, and vascular plants that can tolerate very cold weather, such as sedge and cottongrass, dominate.
Read more: View WWF Report
Area:114,559,999 acres (46,360,787 hectares)
Species:All  Endangered  Invasive
Climate:View Climate Data
Land Use:View Land Use Data
Ecoregions provided by World Wide Fund For Nature (WWF). WildFinder: Online database of species distributions, ver. 01.06 WWF WildFINDER