Central & Western Europe

WWF Abstract

This expansive ecoregion comprises the plateaus and lowlands of the Central European Plain. Encompassing more than 15 countries it stretches from England and the Atlantic coast of France in the west to Lithuania and Belarus in the east, and from Denmark in the north to France and Switzerland in the south. It is delimited by the North and Baltic seas in the north and the Alps and Carpathian Mountains in the south.
Read more: View WWF Report
Biome:Temperate Floodplain River and Wetlands
Countries:Austria, Belgium, Byelarus, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom
Area:274,458,340 acres (111,069,350 hectares)
Species:All  Endangered  Invasive
Ecoregions provided by World Wide Fund For Nature (WWF). WildFinder: Online database of species distributions, ver. 01.06 WWF WildFINDER